29

I started out with a smile in my future
I am running now with a chip on my shoulder
I thought the world would one day be all mine
I thought that I would always have more time

I dreamt much more than I could ever hope for
I made plans that seemed so right at seventeen
I thought that God would grant me a perfect life
I thought that I would always have more time

I always heard to strive for something greater
I didn’t hang my head in shame with each defeat
I swore to never settle for less without a fight
I thought that I would always have more time

I learned to make concessions day-by-day
I saw my foolishness for what it was
I felt the weight so crushing from the outside
I still thought that I would always have more time

I had unexpected gifts that numbed the heartaches
I never saw them coming in all my plans
I knew most of what I’d wished would be denied 
I began to humbly lose my hold on time

I felt the coldness of perspective growing closer
I opened gates that led to pathways of regret
I handed Him the evidence of all my crimes
I let Him shape my heart, my will, my time

I cannot claim that everything is as I’d hoped
I cannot claim I’m exactly who I’ll be
But I swore I won’t deny the One who dwells inside
I know that He transcends the hands of time

Leave a Reply

