“I’m Gonna Be a Fathah!”

Raylan, kicked back and chillin' in the womb

My wife and I announced that we were having a baby several weeks ago, and now we know what we’re having: a baby boy named Raylan Mason Dean.

We agreed early on that we would spend five years married together, then begin having kids. We’re right on schedule, but we’ve been searching for Southern-sounding names the entire time. We heard “Raylan,” and almost instantly, it clicked. Mason is the name of my wife’s grandfather, and she’s wanted to name her boy that since she was a little girl. The Dean part he gets from me.

The bad news: now we have to hold on to our girl name for a while.

I can’t wait to see the little joker, hold him, teach him to play XBox, convince him that soccer is better than American football, and most importantly, attempt to instill a passion of a life lived by God’s Word and through His will.

This is one of the most exciting days of my life, and I absolutely cannot wait…

Leave a Reply

