In Your Face!

As I sit here in the doctor’s office, making full use of Willis Knighton’s public Wi-Fi, I came across a nice little news story. Actually, I was slapped in the face with it, thanks to the Drudge Report’s massive headline. I thought it might sound better in context, so I clicked the link and read the entire article.

Context didn’t help.

From Obama mocks McCain in Nevada stops (sfgate.com):

In Elko, Obama tried to anticipate his critics and called on the crowd of about 1,500 to sharpen their elbows, too.

“I need you to go out and talk to your friends and talk to your neighbors. I want you to talk to them whether they are independent or whether they are Republican. I want you to argue with them and get in their face,” he said.

Now, I’m not sure about you guys, but the Audacity of Hope™ and Change You Can Believe In™ campaign seems to be sounding a bit different…

Let us clarify what it means to “get in their face.” For those who aren’t quite familiar with the term, I shall paint a picture for you.

You’re on the basketball court. Some guy fouls you so hard that your lip starts to bleed. You then bump chests and put your noses about 3 inches away from each other, and you proceed to scream violently with spittle gathering not only in the corners of your mouth, but also the face of your opponent as it flies in bubbly little groups in his eyes/nose/mouth region.

This is “getting in someone’s face.”

Do you really want to do that to your friends and neighbors?

Leave a Reply

