My Wish

From BreitBart: Puerto Rican Man Stands Up at Wake

Stand Up

SAN JUAN, Puerto Rico (AP) – A Puerto Rican man has been granted his wish to remain standing—even in death. A funeral home used a special embalming treatment to keep the corpse of 24-year-old Angel Pantoja Medina standing upright for his three-day wake.

Dressed in a Yankees baseball cap and sunglasses, Pantoja was mourned by relatives while propped upright in his mother’s living room.

His brother Carlos told the El Nuevo Dia newspaper the victim had long said he wanted to be upright for his own wake: “He wanted to be happy, standing.”

The owner of the Marin Funeral Home, Damaris Marin, told The Associated Press the mother asked him to fulfill her dead son’s last wish.

Pantoja was found dead Friday underneath a bridge in San Juan and buried Monday. Police are investigating.

This story brought back some memories from the days I worked at Hill Crest Funeral Home.

Once we buried a man in his LSU jersey. His friends all wore purple and gold to the funeral. Another time I had to roll down a man’s socks in one-inch increments and roll up his sleeves three times a piece.

Honestly, I’d like to be buried at sea. I’m not even joking. I’d like my (inexpensive) coffin to be pushed off of a boat into the Pacific Ocean about 50 miles east of Avalon. I want my Bible, a picture of me and Shari, and a copy of my “works” that really only a few people know about buried with me. I do not want to be standing at my wake.

Anyone else want to voice any special requests?

Leave a Reply

