Psalm 139

I remember my brother and I discussing Psalm 139 years ago. I’m not sure what brought it up, but I know he kept calling it one of his favorite passages in the Bible.

For whatever reason, it’s really been on my mind the past few days, especially this one bit…

14 – I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Wonderful are Your works, And my soul knows it very well.

15 – My frame was not hidden from You, When I was made in secret, {And} skillfully wrought in the depths of the earth;

16 – Your eyes have seen my unformed substance; And in Your book were all written The days that were ordained {for me,} When as yet there was not one of them.

17 – How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How vast is the sum of them!

18 – If I should count them, they would outnumber the sand. When I awake, I am still with You.

To watch a parent as he/she looks at their child, or even speaks about their child, you can sense the closeness of their words, especially a mother’s. She carried that child in her womb. She gave birth to them. She raised them.

My parents maintained optimism in me even when I was acting like the biggest fool in the world when I was younger. They looked at me with pride, even when I gave them nothing of which to be proud. I can’t explain that.

Parents and their offspring have a symbiotic relationship; they are connected. When the child hurts, the parent hurts. When the child feels joy, the child feels joy. Just look at how a parent reacts when a kid at school picks on their child: THEY GO CRAZY! They’re calling principals and chewing out teachers…

God is constantly referred to as our Heavenly Father, but do we really understand what that means? Psalm 139 gives us a glimpse into that relationship. He saw us, felt us, loved us while we were being formed. He helped shape us, and knew exactly what we were to be like (long before our parents knew).

But the part that gets me: “How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How vast is the sum of them! If I should count them, they would outnumber the sand.”

When I’m at my worst…down, depressed, and feeling worthless, I have a God who not only loves me, but whose loving thoughts towards me are endless. I don’t know about any of you guys, but I’ve DEFINITELY needed that knowledge during the past few days and weeks.

Hopefully this post isn’t too cheesy for you, but this passage of scripture has meant a lot to me personally, and evidently has to my brother as well. I hope someone else gains from it…

4 thoughts on “Psalm 139

  1. Heather says:

    Ryan, you have such a way of expressing yourself with words! I needed that today….

  2. Stacy Dyke says:

    There is a commentary that I read at times and if you look up verse 14: the word “And” is removed so it is “fearfully wonderfully made; marvoulous are your works.” Then as you study the meaning from the greek/hebrew is says:
    I was made in fear(fearfully)
    to be set apart (wonderfully)
    to have a distinguished(marvellous) work

    So if you say it like this — “I was made in fear to be set apart to have a distinguished work from my living being,I know this is right.” Stacy Translation. LOL

    I know pretty nerdy on my part but thought I would share.

  3. Lorelei says:

    definitely not cheesy at all.. this was a great pick-me-up post, thanks!

  4. ryanaustindean says:

    Thanks, you guys. And Sis. Stacy, don’t apologize for that sort of thing…

Leave a Reply

