The Great Jowling Experiment™

I began doing something similar to “jowling” when I got my very first digital camera, a little 3.2 megapixel point-and-shoot. I didn’t know what it was called, and I can’t find the pictures in my archives anywhere, but my brother, Brad Smoak, and I stayed up late one night figuring out how to take the most grotesque pictures imaginable.

Cue 2008, when Steven Myers and Michael Jordan introduced me to the term “jowling” by posting a few images of themselves on a message board. I knew I wanted to shoot some jowling pictures of my own, but I’m enjoying it so much, and enjoyed posting Baron’s jowling pictures so much…

…that I decided to start THE GREAT JOWLING EXPERIMENT. These are the first four jowling sequences of many to come.

Wes Thwing (this one is just great):

#2

Yours Truly:

#3

Chris Adcock:

#4

Leave a Reply

