I Am Humiliated

Truly.

A little over a week ago, I launched what I am referring to as my “temporary web-site,” RyanAustinDean.com. I set up the site primarily as a reference point for potential customers. I needed a place to direct them for pricing structures, contact information, and to offer them something beyond the photography blog.

Most photographers are placing a much stronger emphasis on their blogs rather than their web-sites (some like Jessica Claire and Mark Eric are making their main sites a fusion of the two, actually), but some customers expect you to have a “real site” to direct them to, at least if you’re a little peon like myself.

So, under time constraints, I threw together some graphics, got the necessary information together, and uploaded my site. I asked a few friends (COUGHBARONCARSONCOUGH) to proofread the thing for me, and then announced it here on the blog and posted it to the bulletin board on MySpace. I immediately began pointing customers and friends to the new site.

Here’s where it gets interesting. Today, I was messaged out of the blue by one of Shari’s former professors, Dr. Wolfgang Hinck. He said that he stumbled across the site through a friend of a friend of a friend’s MySpace page, and found THIS (look closely)…

TYPO!

See it? Oh, yeah! That’s right! I WOULD JUST LOVE TO BE YOUR “PHOTORAPHER!”

Dr. Hinck pointed out that such an epic typo would be a massive turn-off for potential clients, and of course he’s absolutely correct. I’m forever indebted to him for not allowing the humiliation to drag on any longer. When he said that he found my site “through a friend’s, friend’s, friend’s MySpace page,” I hope he doesn’t actually mean “when a friend told me about this moron photographer’s massive typo right at the top of his web-site.”

Embarrassing? How about utterly humiliating?

Yes, I’ve been sending potential clients to “Ryan Austin Dean Photoraphy.” I take “photoraphs” of all the important occasions in your life. I hope to God that 99% of the people who visited the site just somehow missed that little detail.

When Dr. Hinck let me know about that, I got this horrible, nauseous, sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach. I’m currently in Alexandria for LA Men’s Conference, but I could hear the humiliation in her voice while speaking on the phone.

So here’s the big question: “If any of you guys saw that, WHY DIDN’T YOU TELL ME?” If you didn’t see it, then maybe you don’t need a photographer…maybe you need a “photorapher.”

It’s going to take a looooong time for me to get over this one.

7 thoughts on “I Am Humiliated

  1. B-Ron says:

    FOR THE RECORD:
    Ryan asked me to critique his site not “proofread” the site. I can’t speel anie beter than hem. I’m just a designer. My lovely wife checks my spelling for me. (for what speel chek dont cach)

  2. Armando says:

    Hey Ryan,

    Don’t feel too bad. I did a search for “photoraphy” on Google. 46,300 for “photoraphy.” You were in good company.

  3. B-Ron says:

    “When Dr. Hinck let me know about that, I got this horrible, nauseous, sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach. I’m currently in Alexandria for LA Men’s Conference, but I could hear the humiliation in her voice while speaking on the phone.”

    WHO were you on the phone with? Jen wanted to know what the hey you were talking about cause the last line made little sense. =) I told her not to worry about it cause you were a Photorapher.

  4. Matthew D. says:

    What’s the negativity all about?

    Photoraphy is a great profession.

    I respect plenty of full-time and hobbyist photoraphers for the amazing photoraphy they produce.

    Hehe… Perhaps the only worse thing is getting published in a national journal and then realizing that you had an error that neither you nor the editor caught (speaking from personal experience).

  5. ryanaustindean says:

    Baron, this is my blog. The truth is what I say it is. Heh…

    I guess this happens to everyone at some point or another. It just really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really bruises my ego.

  6. Heather says:

    And it came from Dr. Hinck….. Oh heavens, that man intimidates me! EEEK!

  7. Chasity says:

    Ryan- should Darron and I be worried?? 😉 Little confused as to what our money is going towards….please advise

Leave a Reply

