The “J” Key

J

Okay, so I already feel conspicuous being the only individual in my poli-sci class who uses a computer to take notes. Everyone else is making a “scratchity-scratchity” sound with their pencils while I make a “tappity-tappity” noise with my keyboard.

Suddenly, my “tappity-tappity” turns into a “tappity-clink-whoosh-ping-ping-ping…”

Are you wondering what happened?

My PowerBook has gotten more use during the 2 1/2 years I’ve owned it than a typical computer gets in about 4 or 5 years. Therefore it is falling apart. Literally. That “clink-whoosh-ping-ping-ping” sound I just described earlier was my “J” key becoming dislodged in mid-type, shooting into the air, and pinging across my tesk. I managed to grab it in mid-air before it hit the ground, but the damage was done. People saw. And they smirked.

And I turned red.

I could kill the stupid “J” key! I thought about replacing all words that start with “J,” but then I realized that I could no longer spell “Jesus,” “jungle,” or “Jell-O.” I realized that I like all those things so much that I couldn’t possible go on a J-key fast. Oh well…

6 thoughts on “The “J” Key

  1. Matthew D. says:

    Yeah. In my case the loss of keys involves a slightly high energy chihuahua who doesn’t know where not to step…

  2. ryanaustindean says:

    Oh, nice! Come to think of it though, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a “slightly” high energy chihuahua.

    My fantasy sports team name is the “Rabid Chihuahuas.” I’m always at the bottom of the standings. Purely coincidental.

  3. TJ Clayton says:

    Dude, just stopping, lifting my leg, and leaving my mark. Nice blog, just hope during your Poli Sci class you don’t have to do any papers on Jean Jacques Rousseau or Jesse Jackson or John Lock or Jeremy Bentham or Henry James…ok, you get the point.

    Hope you and your wife are well!

  4. ryanaustindean says:

    Ha…good to hear from you TJ. You were really struggling to find some J-names towards the end, weren’t you?

  5. James Wilder says:

    Hey there – enjoy your blog! I glance it over every now and then after finding it linked to a link to a link. Your photos are a piece of art. God Bless you guys…

    btw…For Jesse Jackson, he doesn’t deserve his name to be fully spelled out esse ackson is suitable.

  6. ryanaustindean says:

    Thank you, James. I hope you guys are doing well in the Sac-Cal area too.

    Actually, “Reverend esse ackson” works great for my new J-free keyboard experience. I use the title “Reverend” a bit too liberally, as well.

Leave a Reply

