uNight

Even with a two-week delay, uNight has really snuck up on me…

(A note for the non-POBC types) – uNight is the Sunday night service that takes place every few months where the youth group takes total control over everything.

This uNight, it’s my turn to speak. uNight is generally a good time for the church to hear a young minister that they might not be as familiar with, but twice a year Pastor (AKA “Dad,” “Father,” etc.) requests that myself and Baron speak during one of the services. This Sunday night is my turn.

I’ve also developed some unexpected (and some would say unfortunate) role as one of the singers during these services, so I’ll be doing that too. My concern is that the church will experience a Ryan-overload tomorrow night. I’m sorry, people…I promise I’m not trying to force myself up there! Please forgive the abundance of eyebrows tomorrow night.

So here I am, in the middle of writing out the message that’s been on my mind for over a month and a half, dizzy from exhaustion and wondering how early I’ll have to wake up in order to edit a short video before service in the morning. uNights always freak me out. I don’t know why I don’t prepare weeks in advance. Oh wait, yes I do…because I’m a horrible phlegmatic/melancholy mixture, and the phlegmatic side usually wins out in these situations.

Ah, ha! Today I had TWO, count ’em…TWO…unexpected pleasures. I got to spend a bit of time with my cousin, Chantry, his wife, Heather, and the still brand-new Ava, their daughter. She is absolutely beautiful (as you can see)…

Ava in B&W

I relish every little bit of time I get to spend with my family, especially those who I don’t get to see very often.

Later, after a bit of uNight preparation, I met up with the great Mark Motichek (AKA Mark Eric in the photography world) and Andria Fontenot from Alexandria. They were in town on a shoot, and I got to see them afterwards. Mark is the one who shot mine and Shari’s wedding way back when. He might not realize it, but he’s a big part of why I finally took the plunge and bought a decent camera. The only problem with that is that I had no warning that getting into photography would only make me want a better, more expensive camera, along with some better, more expensive lenses.

This was my first time to meet Andria. I knew of her from a photography forum that I frequent, but she’s the first “Crazie” that I’ve been able to meet. Shari and I thought she was super sweet, and she does some great work. Seriously, you need to check out their sites.

Wow…I really need to get back to work. Onward!

2 thoughts on “uNight

  1. thanks ryan! thats so nice!
    I had so much fun hanging out with you guys!
    I’m looking forward to more of your pictures!!

  2. ryanaustindean says:

    It was our pleasure, most definitely. And concerning the pictures, likewise. You, along with several other Crazies, were already on my RSS Blog Feed. : )

Leave a Reply

