B.O.T.T.

I’ve barely been on my computer the past three days. Shari and I have been in Alexandria, Louisiana for Because of the Times, a yearly conference for ministers and their wives/families.

Note: It’s also where Kings of Leon got the title of their 2007 CD, Because of the Times

I really enjoy it, but by Thursday I’m absolutely exhausted. Knowing that we’re going straight to our church staff leadership retreat as soon as we get home is a bit of a buzzkill for the ride home. Shari is downloading her work at the moment, which requires absolute silence, so I’m sitting here on the hotel bed trying to catch up on Emails and my RSS feeds, typing very quietly. I might just go to the bathroom and sit down until it’s done.

I’ve been going through a lot of photography stuff, trying to get some new ideas and critique myself a bit. The more I look, the more I’m convinced that I’ve been leaning too heavily on the shallow depth-of-field look. It’s great for a lot of portraits, but I’ve been so concerned with getting some good bokeh out of my pictures that I’ve neglected to take advantage of a nice blue sky or interesting background. No matter how long I do this, I’m going to keep checking out as much work from other people as I can; I don’t want to get so locked in to a certain style that I can’t branch out and try something new (which is why Shari and I are retiring the field location that we’ve been using for portrait sessions).

Anyways, back to Emails.

Leave a Reply

