Happy SEC Day!

Gawgia

Forget this whole New Year’s blah-blah-blah. Today is officially “SEC Day.” Why? Because there are 6 bowls games today, and 4 of them involve an SEC team.

The first: #16 Wisconsin vs. #18 Tennessee in the Outback Bowl. I don’t have a lot of emotion invested into either of these teams, but all I need to know is that it’s Big Ten vs. SEC. If you’ve ever heard me talk about college football conferences before, you might know that I can’t stand the Big Ten or the Pac 10. Both conferences are overrated, especially the Big Ten. The only reason it gets the attention that it does is because of sportswriters who, for whatever reason, believe that the Big Ten is soooooo difficult! If LSU smacks Ohio State around like Florida did last year, I don’t want to hear this argument ever again. And don’t even get me started on how USC is the media darling problem child who is heavy on the suave and light on the humility. Blah.

In other words, “Go Tennessee!”

Numero dos: Michigan vs. #12 Florida in the Capital One Bowl. I predict that Florida spanks Michigan by 21. Another Big Ten joke. I can’t believe I’m saying this…*shudder*…but, “Go Florida!”

Three: #10 Hawaii vs. #5 Georgia in the Sugar Bowl. This isn’t even going to be a contest. Hawaii fans are harping on and on about their 12-0 record. “We’re the only undefeated team in the nation!” Well, that’s true, but you’re also the only team in the nation that got to play the equivalent of high school teams the entire year, with the exception of Boise State. Sure, Colt Brennan is a good QB, but he has never had to pass against a backfield like Georgia’s. Again, it feels weird cheering for a rival, but…”Go, Gawgia!”

Lastly, #8 Missouri vs. Arkansas in the Cotton Bowl. There is probably more to be proven in this game than any of the other six being played today. If Darren McFadden and Arkansas can pull off the upset here, it will be the biggest case for SEC supremacy this bowl season. I was heartbroken just a few weeks ago when Arkansas knocked LSU out in triple overtime, but today I’ll be hoping that McFadden runs all over Missouri, and that Chase Daniel gets chased all over the field by an aggressive Arkansas defense (I know, I know…terrible pun).

So to wrap things up, “Go Arkansas!”

Yeah, I just threw up a little bit in my mouth.

Leave a Reply

