AT&T Responds

AT&T wants to kiss and make up.

I received this Email yesterday.

Dear Valued Customer:

Stop right there!

I had to catch my breath for a few minutes. Belly laughter is exhausting. Continuing…

On behalf of all of us at AT&T, I want to apologize for the interruption in your AT&T Internet service that you may have experienced last week.

We have closely examined the cause of this failure and have already taken action to prevent it from happening again. In addition, we have heard your feedback on how we can keep you better informed in the unlikely event of an outage in the future, and are taking steps to improve our customer service processes.

STOP!

Translation: “You told us that you hate our guts, and normally we wouldn’t care, but bad press is really embarrassing, even when we use $100 bills instead of toilet paper in our main complex.

I also want to thank you for being a loyal AT&T customer, and hope you will continue to allow AT&T to be your complete communications provider. We have a long-standing history of providing reliable service, and we know how much you count on us. We will continue to build on that reputation in the future and will do everything in our power to provide products and services that exceed your expectations.

If you are continuing to experience service related problems as a result of the interruption to your AT&T Internet service, please Click Here (disabled) and we will be glad to assist you.

Sincerely,

David W. Scobey, Jr.

President & CEO

AT&T Southeast

Allow me to break this down for Mr. Scobey:

What he meant to say, since they’re being totally honest and forthright with their customers now…

*cough*

…is that AT&T finally has a dent in its armor. People don’t like to be defecated on. AT&T has made a living on punching people in the face and telling them to like it. People are tired of it. They’ve already begun removing their money from AT&T’s wallet in order to find someone who actually cares about providing a quality service, and Mr. Scobey has been told to either do some serious damage control, or take a hike.

Well, Mr. Scobey, I don’t fault you for making a good living for yourself, but your company is going to have to do a lot more than send me an Email assuring me that AT&T cares about providing services for me as a customer. They’re going to have to actually show me that I’m a valued customer.

I’m sick, I’m tired, and I’m disillusioned with the communications behemoth that is AT&T (as this humble blog has indicated).

And I’m not alone.

Leave a Reply

