He’s For Real?

Huckabee

I don’t like to be wrong. Just ask my wife.

Scratch that; I hate being wrong. It’s a strange, terrible feeling that leaves me quiet, dejected, and irritable–a trait that my family have found irritating in itself.

Luckily, there are exceptions to every rule. I have recently been very happy to be proven wrong. Mike Huckabee is gaining ground as he vies for the Republican Presidential nomination, and he’s gaining fast!

My friend Derek has supported Huckabee for months now (actually, it was his most recent post, posted September 6 – let’s get with it, Derek). I agreed that Huckabee was likely the truest conservative out of the nominees, and was likely the best candidate from a Christian’s perspective, but I didn’t think that he had a fighting chance. I wasn’t supporting anyone at the time; I was going to see what our “real” options were.

Huckabee was originally an underdog, but due to Giuliani’s lack of conservative credentials, McCain’s struggles with sanity, Romney’s flip-flopping, Thompson’s underwhelming entry, and Ron Paul getting little more than the YouTube vote, Huckabee not only has a chance…he looks like a potential winner.

If you want a candidate who has always been pro-life, pro-Second Amendment, pro sanctity of marriage, and pro religious freedom who will stand firm on the war on terror, then Huckabee is your safest bet. He’s not perfect, but what politician is (or even close)?

I almost forgot; he also supports the FairTax. Huckabee FTW!

The only problem? He was celebrating Arkansas’ win over LSU Friday.

Ah, forget it. I’ll still support him.

4 thoughts on “He’s For Real?

  1. Heather says:

    Bout time you joined Huckabee’s bandwagon! Whoohoo! Huckabee for President!

  2. ryanaustindean says:

    Look up his 6-video series on YouTube with Glenn Beck. Just type in “Huckabee Part 1” in the search field. It takes about 45-50 minutes to get through it all. I broke it into segments throughout a day.

  3. Heather says:

    Really enjoyed the youtube specials!

  4. Sigh….Derek really does need to post again. He was all excited that the youth staff all had blogs, but me and Lacey are the only people who ever post anymore. Sad.

    Huck 4 Prez!

Leave a Reply

