Rotten Apple

Rotten Apple

My computer is dying. It’s a slow, painful death. I’ve seen it coming for several months now.

The signs were vague at first. The screen flickered from time to time. The battery didn’t seem to last as long as it used to. The “J” key popped off the keyboard and skipped across the trackpad into my lap.

That my computer is aging is not surprising. The fact that it’s aging this quickly is almost tragic. It’s comparable to a person passing away in middle-age. Threatening to be taken in what was to be the prime of its life (not really; they’re best when brand-new), my 1.67 GHz PowerBook G4 is getting read to give up the ghost.

The 1.25 GB of RAM are not enough to dissuade the “spinning beach ball” from frequently rearing its ugly head. The 80 GB of hard drive space is insufficient for thousands of pictures (and it’s a pain to run through a 320 GB hard drive).

Things started getting worse about two weeks ago. Suddenly the computer goes from a 45% charge to shutting off without any warning. The worst incident involved going from 60% to dead. It’s especially aggravating when you’re in the middle of a project. The information isn’t lost, but the flow is cut off, which is aggravating as sin.

Therefore, the countdown has begun. My computer will bite the dust sometime soon, and I will be forced to go without for a while. The next step will likely be a MacBook (not the Pro). I’m sure it will suffice for what I need, but man…two years is not a long time for a computer to last.

I know what you’re thinking: “Ryan, I thought Macs were soooo great, and they’re the oooonly thing you’ll use! Now yours is broken!” Yes, mine is dying, but it’s more than likely from overuse, not from there being anything wrong with an Apple product. Apple has the highest hardware rate in the computing industry (10% defective rate). My PowerBook is dying because I’ve used it a lot. My iPod is dying because I dropped it a few times. I’ll still swear by Apple.

Oh, yes…a quick note: I am aware that Apple is a “left-leaning” company. I am aware that Al Gore is on Apple’s board of directors. If Rush Limbaugh, a die-hard Mac user, can deal with it, I can deal with it. You know it, and I know it.

Wow. I’ve been complaining a lot.

5 thoughts on “Rotten Apple

  1. Than says:

    I will pray for you during this tradgic time of grief and heartache. Surely the Lord will comfort you as you watch the slow and agonizing passing of a dear, dear member of your family. God bless!

  2. Why for will you not be purchasing a MacBook Pro? Are you Chicken? Mmm hmmm. That’s what I thought. Me, I’m in a quandry. Do I save money next year for my (soon-to-be) wife and I to go to Papa New Guinia, or do I get a MacBook Pro? hmmmm…. Missions or Mac? Missions or Mac?

  3. ryanaustindean says:

    Chicken? No, just poor. : )

    You’re about to be married. You’ll understand very soon. MUAH HA HA HA!

    By the way, never ask a raging Macaholic to choose between ANYTHING and a Mac. The answer will be quite predictable.

  4. ryanaustindean says:

    Than, I will be expecting you at the viewing.

  5. Hey, I had to give up XM radio already to free up some dough. I’m having to (shudder) bring my lunch to work with me too…gosh!

    Oh my Fritos!! I’m whipped!!

Leave a Reply

