Project

Excel

I have a Math project due today. I’ve been here at the church since about 7:30, trying to finalize the thing. It’s a Math Concepts project involving the savings formula. A guy wants to save $5,000 over a 48-month period and needs to know the minimum nominal interest rate he is going to require to accomplish the task. We were to use a hit-and-miss approach, using the formula A = d [(1 – i) to the 48th power – 1 / i ].

Irritating to work through, but not particularly difficult. The problem wasn’t the problem; the problem was that we were supposed to do the thing in Excel.

Confession time. I know how to use every single program in my Dock except Excel. I know how to organize the stuff, but I don’t know how to construct a formula. I sort of learned in my basic computer course 4 years ago, but I don’t remember a single thing about it. The knowledge simply vanished from my mind.

Theoretically, it’s done to save time, but since I couldn’t figure out how to make the formula, I did every one by hand until I found the desired result of $5,008.83 at a monthly rate of 1.93%. I only had to work through ten or so possibilities, but then I had to manually place all of that stuff into an Excel document, hoping that it looks like I did things the easy way.

I really should’ve asked for my brother’s help. He’s an Excel wizard.

Anyways, we have to finish the project with a lengthy report on the formula used, why we used it, how it would work in real life, what problems we encountered, etc.

<p.

Thank God this is the last math class I’ll have to take for the rest of my life. It’s not even that difficult, but it drives me crazy.

2 thoughts on “Project

  1. Than says:

    Math, any kind, is the worst!! Oh by the way, you mispelled my last name. I am not related to William Randolph.

  2. ryanaustindean says:

    I realized that afterwards, but I was also too lazy to change that. Deal with it, Randolph.

Leave a Reply

