Steve Bloom

There are all sorts of photography (Ooh, hey, look! Obvious statement!). Portrait, scenic, urban, fine art, wildlife, etc. Everyone has their favorite, I’d assume, but I don’t know if I do or not. I’m pretty much plugged into portrait photography right now, trying to wrap my mind around all of the technical aspects of photography. Aperture, ISO, white balance, RAW…it was all a lot to study up on for the first few weeks. I didn’t want to be stuck on Auto mode for the rest of my life, so I had to study up on everything.

I’ve learned a lot, but I still have quite a way to go. I could shoot in aperture priority mode, which takes care of everything (pretty much) except the aperture, but for some reason I always go back to manual, adjusting something almost every time that I change positions even slightly. It costs me shots from time to time, and I’m going to have to learn to trust aperture priority mode.

I’m aware that almost all of you probably are bored out of you mind by now, so I’ll get to the point of my post: Steve Bloom.

Steve…hockin’…Bloom.

Don’t know who he is? I didn’t either, until someone sent me a link to a site with quite a few of his pictures on it. Check that site out by clicking here. Unless you speak Russian, or whatever that is, you’re not going to be able to read anything on there, but the images speak for themselves. Here are a few to spur your interest in actually clicking on that link.

Elephant Eye

Lions Drinking

Catch the Rain

Shark Bite

Tiger Stare

And one of my favorites, the orangutan family portrait session. It’s as if they paid their $200 sitting fee and got prettied up for picture day.

Family Portrait

This guy is absolutely amazing. He worked a safe job as a graphic design artist in England, but gave in to his new calling to wildlife photography in the early Nineties. Check out his site for more information and pictures.

I just wanted to share. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

