Dumbledore Eye for the Potter Guy

Dumbledore

Okay, so the title of this blog is stupid, but do you know what’s even dumber? This news story.

Let me confess something: I’ve never read one sentence of a Harry Potter book. I’ve only seen previews of the movies, and didn’t pay attention to them either. The only character that I was previously aware of was Harry himself. This probably sounds strange from someone who adores Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, and other nerdy stuff, but I’ve never been interested.

I suppose if you are one of the millions of Potter fans (God bless your pitiful little soul), you might be blown away by the J.K. Rowling revelation that Dumbledore (pictured) is a homosexual.

“Dumbledore is gay, actually,” replied Rowling as the audience erupted in surprise. She added that, in her mind, Dumbledore had an unrequited love affair with Gellert Grindelwald, Voldemort’s predecessor who appears in the seventh book. After several minutes of prolonged shouting and clapping from astonished fans, Rowling added. “I would have told you earlier if I knew it would make you so happy.”

Dumbledore is GAY??? APPLAUSE! HAPPY! OH COURAGE AND BRAVERY!

They actually applauded the fact that Dumbledore is gay? Why?

Surprise, I can understand. Amused bewilderment? Sure! But applause?

Maybe I’m just reading too much into this, but I feel like I can see the thoughts of those who cheered and applauded Dumbledore’s coming out party: “Oh! This is a chance to show the world how open-minded and anti-Bush I am! I should clap now! Oh, see how broad my level of reasoning is? See how I clap for the gay fictional character? Oh, wow, I’m a great person! BUSH LIES, PEOPLE DIE! Oh, wow, I could clap for Dumbledore’s gayness ALL DAY LONG! Yeah! Well, I’d better wrap this up so I can go smoke another joint…”

No wonder I hate Harry Potter.

One thought on “Dumbledore Eye for the Potter Guy

  1. Did you waste any time reading some of those comments at the end of the article? Someone claiming to be a Christian actually said that God doesn’t live in the Bible; he speaks directly to us through our hearts. I guess he forgot about Romans 1:21, Proverbs 28:26, and Proverbs 18:2.

Leave a Reply

