Another Weird PS3 “Price Drop”

The Playstation 3 had another price drop announced today, but it’s still kind of…odd.

From a Fox Business article:

The top-line PlayStation model, with an 80 gigabyte hard drive, now costs $499, down from $599. That effectively eliminates the lower-end model, which has a 60-gigabyte drive and has sold for $499.

A new low-end model with a 40-gigabyte drive will go on sale Nov. 2 for $399.

Unlike the other PlayStation 3 models, the new one won’t be able to play games made for the PlayStation 2. In a statement, Sony said this was due to a more extensive lineup of games of the PlayStation 3.

Okay, so let me get this straight…

The 80 GB PS3 will drop to $499, which is what the old 60 GB model was (and is) priced at until stock runs out. The new 40 GB model will be $399 (finally reaching initial XBox 360 prices), and will not be backwards-compatible, which means it won’t play Playstation and Playstation 2 titles, like the 80 GB model will.

Will the 40 GB model be ripped of any other features? The Wii has sold twice the number of consoles in the same time period as the PS3. Why? Because they marketed it well by using their new “blue ocean” strategy that appeals to a wider demographic, and it started off at half the price! Price is a HUGE barrier to entry. So now you have to get a gimped 40 GB model if you want to save $100? And it’s STILL $400!

Now I understand that the PS3 also has a Bluray drive, so that jacked the price up. And I know that it’s using cell technology, wireless, bluetooth, and all this other jazz…

But it’s a GAME CONSOLE, for cryin’ out loud! People want to PLAY GAMES on it! And if they’re anything like me, they can’t afford to pay $500 for a gaming console, in addition to the games with cost $60 a pop. I own a Wii for several reasons:

1. It was relatively cheap ($250).

2. The games only cost $50 max. Many of them cost $30 and $40.

3. It has games that my wife can actually enjoy, and makes a good party system.

My problems with it? Sports games are atrocious to try to play on it. The graphics are current-gen, instead of next-gen. The maximum 480p resolution doesn’t look so nice on HDTVs. Nintendo is still the only real development team that makes great games for it. The controls are often gimmicky rather than intuitive.

That’s not to say that I don’t like it, but I wish I had something that didn’t break every few months (XBox 360, I’m looking at you) and didn’t cost a small fortune to own.

I’m lucky that Shari doesn’t read this blog, because I’m about to say something that would make her furious. I would like a PS3. Not now, mind you, but in a year or two, when good games have come out of it. I want it just as much for the Bluray player as I do the game system. I want to play Pro Evolution Soccer, Madden, and NCAA football.

That’s pretty much it. But as I told my students last night, I’ve owned 24 games systems during the course of my life. I shouldn’t even be talking about it on this blog right now. I should shut up, finish up some more work, and practice our songs.

As a matter of fact, that’s what I’m going to do. If you’ve made it to the end of this blog (unlikely), then forget everything I’ve just typed down. Goodbye.

Leave a Reply

