Youth Soccer

Goalkeeper Stanley

I had a blast this morning watching Lincoln play in his first game in the Bossier youth soccer league. He’s always been a tee-ball player, so it was kind of surprising when he chose soccer over machine-pitch baseball for this fall.

Soccer, like many other things, is an interest that I’ve possessed that no one else in my circle of friends and family have shared. It’s still the #1 youth sport in America, but let’s be honest, it still hasn’t caught on with the general populace in America. Football reigns supreme in America. Not the real football, but the American-born version with the helmets and innumerable breaks in the action (I threw that in there just to irritate someone).

Even NASCAR is more popular than the world’s game here in the States. NASCAR, for cryin’ out loud! They would rather watch gear monkey country bumpkins make nearly 1,000 left turns in a boxy car laden with beer advertisements than they would watching Christiano Ronaldo dazzle his way around a pitch.

As pro-American as I am, it’s interesting that the sport I love more than any other barely gets any attention in my homeland. Like I said, soccer is the #1 youth sport in America, but the vast majority of the kids go on to play other sports in junior high and high school. By the time they reach college, they likely don’t even know what Serie A or the Premiership are.

I’ve rambled on and stumbled away from my story…

Anyways, Lincoln had evidently been paying close attention when he played my video game (Pro Evolution Soccer) several months ago, because he showed a flair that the other kids didn’t seem to have. He actually tried to dribble and shake a defender instead of running straight into them. While playing goalkeeper, he dove at the ball instead of trying to kick it away.


And most entertainingly, when he broke loose and calmly slotted the ball past the opponent’s keeper before the end of the first half, he proceeded to celebrate like he had just won the World Cup. He even ran down to the other end of the field in manic jubilation, waving his arms and snarling.

Absolutely hilarious.

Unfortunately, my lens took 10 minutes or so to acclimate to the Louisiana humidity, so I had to wait for it to unfog. I didn’t get a shot of Lincoln’s goal or celebration, but I did get plenty of others afterwards. Here’s a few…

Powerade Break

Leading the Way

Breaking Away?

I hope you enjoy the pictures. I know I had a blast taking them.

One thought on “Youth Soccer

  1. […] Ozlorna wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptThey would rather watch gear monkey country bumpkins make nearly 1,000 left turns in a boxy car laden with beer advertisements than they would watching Christiano R onaldo dazzle his way around a pitch…. […]

Leave a Reply

